2019 parkrun Competition

What is it?

The parkrun competition, which was a component of the 2018 club series, proved to be very popular. In recognition of this and in response to members’ feedback, the club will run a 2019 parkrun competition completely separate from the 2019 ‘Summer Series’ of races.

The competition will run from 01 January to 30 November, with winners announced at the 2019 Christmas party.

As in 2018 there will be two groupings, each comprising four courses named the ‘Populists’ and the ‘Enthusiasts’ groups. The courses for this year are:

Populists:                           Enthusiasts:

Bramhall                              Cheadle Hulme

Lyme Park                            Fletcher Moss

Sale Waterpark                    Woodbank

Wilmslow                              Wythenshawe


Run every course in each group in order to compete in that group.

There will be a separate competition for each group, plus an overall competition for those completing all eight parkrun courses.

Members to add Wimslow RC into their parkrun profile to enable results to be identified. You can do this from the ‘manage my profile’ option, see your latest parkrun results for a link.

Lowest time that year for each course will be used to determine the current total time for a grouping. The total time will be used to calculate monthly league positions and end of year winners.

The parkrun calculated ‘age grading’ score will be used for a new element of the competition, see competition categories below.

Competition Categories

This year, for added interest, members will compete against each other within the structure of the WRC leagues. Leagues for both this and the Summer Series competition will be confirmed and published separately.

The league rankings will be worked out and published monthly. It is calculated as your total time for the group based on your fastest time that year for each course. You need to complete all four in a group at least once to be reported in the leagues.

At the end of the competition there will be league winners for the Populists and Enthusiasts groups. (4 leagues, 2 groupings = 8 winners).

There will be an overall male and female winner for completing the entire set of 8 courses.

There will be an overall male and female age graded winner. Runners who have completed at least one grouping of courses qualify. The winner is simply the highest age grading score achieved that year, across any of the 8 courses, according to the parkrun stats.

We are able to provide this competition thanks to all the parkrun volunteers. Please remember to do your bit for parkrun by volunteering on at least three occasions each year.

Comments are closed